Campus Corner: Meet Cierra!

Hi beauty lovers!  My name is Cierra and I’m one of the Beauteque Campus Ambassadors at Rutgers University.  I knew that becoming a part of the Beauteque team would be perfect for me since I ironically stay up watching beauty tutorials and reading blogs more than I actually get ‘beauty rest’.  A few years ago I came across a Dove commercial, that explained “only 4% of women around the world consider themselves beautiful”.  Only four percent…that’s it!!?  Growing up I definitely didn’t feel like I was a part of that 4%.  But eventually I fell in love with makeup and everything beauty-related because it helped me to fall in love with myself and be more comfortable with how I look.  I realized that I couldn’t cover up every single flaw and imperfection I have, but I could embrace and highlight all the things that I do like.   Beauteque’s motto is “Be Your Best Self” which is exactly what I was able to do.

For me, I feel my best when my makeup gives me a glow (like a Victoria’s Secret angel except not quite on Adriana Lima’s level), and it only takes 3 products!  Being in college I had to learn how to get ready and make it to class, especially on days that I just want to roll out of bed and then have to run to the bus.  I just apply a thin layer of foundation or tinted moisturizer with a damp sponge (3 minutes), dab a cream highlighter on the tops of my cheek bones, the bridge of my nose, and my inner eye corner (2 minutes), then apply 1000 layers of mascara (2 minutes).  If I have extra time I’ll add some blush, bronzer, and gloss for the complete look.

Working with Beauteque I also learned how important your skincare regimen and NOT sleeping in your makeup is  (it’s tempting, I know).  I LOVE the face mask sheets from Beauteque, especially the Nature Republic Aloe face sheet.  My skin pretty much loves anything aloe because it’s soothing and moisturizing.  So they’re perfect for when I’m doing homework at night or studying.  At least when I’m cramming for an exam or have been stuck on the first word of a 10 page essay, I can treat my skin at the same time.  Look for more blog posts from me in the future that are all about using beauty products and skincare to flaunt your real beauty…that means being perfectly imperfect!

blog_picture

Leave a Reply

