Spotlight on Snails

Hey Ladies,

Shu here! If you are Asian, you probably might or might not agree with what I’m going to say. Us, Asians, we probably have eaten tons of exotic things that are common for us but common things we eat may seem appalling to some people. I’ve eaten fried crickets, snake curry (tastes like chicken), frogs, snails or escargot, chicken feet (my favorite), and etc. But of course there are limits to my curiosity! I will never eat spiders, worms, or cute rabbits, turtles and many other animals out there that aren’t meant to be edible. With that being said, some makeup products, especially skincare, may contain some ingredients from animal extracts that we may have never heard of.

So I decided to look into the “Snail Ingredient”, to further educate myself about it and maybe some of you ladies probably knew about it already, if so, please share your thoughts on this. According to my research “The use of snail slime to improve skin dates back to ancient Greece, where Hippocrates, the famous physician, reportedly prescribed crushed snails and sour milk as a way to rid the skin of inflammation. In more recent times, the use of snail creams started when Chilean farmers who handled snails for the French market noticed their skin was visibly smoother. Nowadays, it is the secreted slime discovered by these farmers that is harvested to produce snail cream, not crushed up snails.” Wow, so the use of snail extract goes way back into ancient times.

The complicated term for snail slime is “Helix aspersa muller glycoconjugates” which I don’t think I can ever remember by heart. But snail slime incorporated in snail cream or beauty products in general can help reduce inflammation and redness, stimulate skin regeneration and lock moisture into the skin. When snails are in their defense mode, they excrete a thick fluid. Their fluid is packed with nutrients like hyaluronic acid, glycoprotein enzymes, antimicrobial and copper peptides, and proteoglycans. These nutrients are already commonly added to beauty products and are thought to provide many benefits to skin.

I’ve personally tried a night cream with the snail ingredients in it, the brand was by Missha a Korean beauty line. The product was called Missha Super Aqua Cell Renew Snail Treatment but in a free deluxe sample size. I absolutely love the smell first of all and I felt a burst of hydration on my skin. But that’s the only product specifically titled with “SNAIL” that I’ve ever tried. I’m prone to try out more snail incorporated products, as well as, bee venom and snake extract ones now. If you are interested, come check out our sale on these unusual finds only at Beauteque.com which started today.

Leave a Reply

