Be Your Best Self Tag: Ashley

  • Was there a time where you had to be brave in a difficult situation?

When I was about five years old, my younger sister had to undergo surgery to remove a tumor from her ear canal. Although I did not understand the severity of the procedure at the time, I had to remain optimistic in order to help keep my sister calm before her operation.  While I may have had to put on a brave face for my sister, her own personal bravery was extremely impressive for someone so young.

  • Who inspires you to be your best self?

My parents inspire me to be my best self. Whenever I am feeling down or doubting myself, they offer a reality check and reassure me that thing aren’t always as bad as they may seem.  Their pep talks and kind words of encouragement have helped me to recognize my own potential while also pushing me to accomplish anything I set my mind to.

  • What is your greatest personal achievement?

My greatest personal achievement was receiving my writing professor’s recommendation to submit two of my essays for a University-wide publication. Although my work was not ultimately selected, it felt great to have my writing recognized and praised by a professor whom I respect a great deal.

  • Share a time where you acted selflessly

A few Christmases ago, I participated in the Operation Santa project in New York City. I went to the James A. Farley Post Office with my family and we read “letters to Santa” sent from underprivileged children throughout the city.  Picking a few of these letters, we went to a nearby department store to purchase gifts that we later wrapped and mailed out to the children.  Helping to grant the Christmas wishes of these children really allowed me to gain a greater sense of appreciation for all of the blessings I am fortunate enough to have in my own life.

  • What is the best compliment you have ever given?

Telling my friends that they are beautiful people—inside and out. I really value people who have genuine personalities, and I make sure to acknowledge the positive impact they have on my life.  While inner beauty is not always easy to come by, it is definitely something that deserves recognition and appreciation.

  • What is the best compliment you have ever received?

Having my sister tell me that I am her role model. We are three years apart in age, but I would definitely say that my sister is my best friend and someone I truly admire.  Although this may sound a bit cheesy, knowing that I have set an example that she can look up to makes me feel as though I have succeed in my “job” as her older sister.

  • What’s your best beauty tip?

My best beauty tip is to take care of your skin! I have always had trouble with my skin, but I’ve come to learn that taking the time to wash my face at night is extremely important for a healthy complexion.

  • What beauty product makes you feel like your best self?

Mascara.  This is the only beauty product that I wear consistently without fail, and it really helps to accentuate my favorite feature—my hazel eyes.

  • What do you do that makes you feel like your best self?

Making others laugh helps me to feel like my best self. There is nothing better than putting a smile on another person’s face, and making someone else laugh instantly brightens my own day!

  • What is something that you love about yourself?

I love that I am a good listener.  My close friends always confide in me, and it feels good to know that I am someone they can trust when seeking out guidance or simply looking for someone to talk to.  Even though I don’t always have a solution, I make sure to take the time to offer thoughtful and encouraging advice because I understand how much it means to the friends who reach out to me for help.

2 thoughts on “Be Your Best Self Tag: Ashley

Leave a Reply

