Be Your Best Self Tag: Joelle

  • Was there a time where you had to be brave in a difficult situation?

I’m not sure if brave is the right word for me, it’s a little strong. I think I usually just put on a brave face but I’m not sure I would categorize it as being brave. I try to deal with tough situations quickly and rationally, mainly because if I think about it too much, I start to freak out. I’m all about being proactive in situations, and not pitying myself. I’d rather come up with a solution than dwell on the negative, because that does not solve anything.

  • Who inspires you to be your best self?

I’ve been on a huge girl power kick lately; basically any woman who is achieving greatness (let’s be honest, that’s most women) inspires me. It is great to see women shattering the glass ceiling and it is truly inspiring to watch because they are paving the way for other women. It seems like every day there is a new woman who is breaking barriers, and I think it is just a great time to be a female! The media tends to focus solely on women’s relationships and what outfit they wore on the red carpet, but I think focusing on women’s brains and achievements is way more important. Also, Geno Auriemma.

Joelle 1Joelle2

  • What is your greatest personal achievement?

I feel like I haven’t lived enough to experience my greatest personal achievement, but so far I think it has to be graduating college. A lot of people take going to college for granted, so the fact that I was able continue my education and get a degree I think is a great achievement. I am so thankful for my parents who put me through it and I am happy to say that I went to the University of Connecticut!

Joelle3

  • Share a time where you acted selflessly

Being selfless is not always easy, but I think there are times when I definitely have put others before myself. Nothing major, usually just little things that make the other person feel good. I like to try to help others out, even if there is a cost to me, because doing something for someone else will benefit them way more than it will cost me, 100% of the time.

  • What is the best compliment you have ever given?

Anytime I have complimented someone on something deeper than their appearance. I have done this for a select few, but I think complimenting someone on who they are and the way they carry themselves means more than complimenting them on their looks. People are born with certain features and cannot help how they look (for the most part) so I think someone’s personality means a lot more since they are in control of it. Anyone can have good looks because they were born with them, but someone who has a good soul deserves more praise.

  • What is the best compliment you have ever received?

Someone told me they liked my name and voice all in the same sentence in the first 2 minutes I met them and I was floored. I was caught by surprise how quickly they complimented someone they just met and also by what they complimented. My voice is raspy and low, thanks to constantly screaming and crying as a baby (sorry Mom) so someone complimenting it, and actually liking it, is rare.

  • What’s your best beauty tip?

So cliché, but Aunt Becky from Full House I think gave the best advice “The secret to wearing makeup is to make it look like you’re not wearing any at all.” I’m not a big fan of caking on makeup, so I’m a firm believer in less is more! Also, always make sure you wash your face before you go to bed!

Joelle4

  • What beauty product makes you feel your best self?

Does chapstick count? I literally can’t leave the house without it, I hate having chapped lips and not being able to do anything about it. I also almost always keep a brush on me. Not sure if those are technically beauty products but with tangly hair and chapped lips, I am 100% NOT my best self.

  • What do you do that makes you feel like your best self?

Getting some sun! I can’t stand fake tanning of any kind, mainly because you’re losing the best part of being tan, being out in the sunshine! I think everyone looks better with a tan, even if it’s just a little bit, so being sun-kissed makes me feel the best!

  • What is something that you love about yourself?

I guess it would be my smile. Even though I can’t see it, others can and I think it’s helpful during the day to see a friendly face with a smile. At the risk of sounding like Buddy the Elf (“I just like to smile, smiling’s my favorite”) smiles are easy and can turn someone else’s day around.

Joelle5

Leave a Reply

