Be Your Best Self Tag: Katlyn E.

  • Was there a time where you had to be brave in a difficult situation?

Yes, definitely, more than I can count.  Life wouldn’t be life if you didn’t get thrown curve balls, learn how to dodge them, or get hit, and grow.  My parents divorced when I was 8, leaving my mom with 4 kids.  We had a lot of hard times, as kids we couldn’t understand it, but having to be brave in those hard times has made me stronger today.

  • Who inspires you to be your best self?

As cliché as this sounds, my Mother.  She is by far one of strongest and most sincere women I know.  I truly admire the woman she is, and have learned so much from her.  She is always there, offering the best advice and encouragement, especially when I need it.  I want to make her proud, and that pushes me to be the best I can be.

  • What is your greatest personal achievement?

Graduating from college on the Deans list.  Transitioning to college is definitely an adjustment, and the first semester wasn’t easy for me.  I worked a lot and commuted, but always made sure to get my schoolwork done.  It was important to me to do well.

  • Share a time where you acted selflessly.

I’ve done a lot of things for other people that I didn’t have to do, especially when I used to work as a server. We had a lot of older customers and I would always help them carry their stuff, get the door, walk them to the car, etc.  I also used to donate some time and food to a pantry my stepmother got me involved with. It was kind of like a free food store for those who couldn’t afford it.

  • What is the best compliment you have ever given?

Telling one of my long time friends how much I appreciated and valued her friendship, how much I admire her, and that she is truly a beautiful soul.  I actually made her cry! We don’t always hang out and don’t talk all the time, but she’s the kind of friend you will have forever and I wanted her to know what it meant to me.

  • What is the best compliment you have ever received?

When I worked as a server at a local place, someone I didn’t really know but had seen a bunch of times, an older woman, literally stopped me in my tracks to tell me that just watching me made her happy.  She said you always have a smile on your face, are so pleasant, and just seem so happy. She said that it put her in a better mood to be around even if I wasn’t helping her.  That made me feel really good to know that by just being myself and working as usual, I had a positive impact on someone without even knowing it.  People notice and sense positive energy, and it’s contagious.

  • What’s your best beauty tip?

Be comfortable in your own skin and be proud of who you are.  All that makeup and paint can’t make you what you ain’t! (Is that even a real thing?)  Beauty is skin deep.  You won’t always be the most beautiful on the outside, but you can always be beautiful on the inside and that’s really what’s important in life.  When you are a good person, positive, and confident in who you are, you are beautiful.

  • What beauty product makes you feel your best self?

Mascara! I don’t care if I don’t have any other make up on as long as I have mascara! Without it my eyes seem so small, a few swipes and viola! Open eyes!

  • What do you do that makes you feel like your best self?

I make sure to make ME time.  I’m usually pretty busy, so I need to have some down time to do something/nothing for myself and recharge.  Whether it’s a mani/pedi, exercising, or just relaxing, taking the time out helps me stay focused.  You have to like, and be comfortable, hanging out with yourself, right?

  • What is something that you love about yourself?

I consider myself to be pretty adaptable, and I love that.  I can go anywhere, meet anyone, and always seem to make the best of it.  Even if the situation isn’t to be desired, I just go with the flow and enjoy new and different experiences. I think its good to be out of your comfort zone at times. It helps you grow as a person.

XO

Katlyn

2 thoughts on “Be Your Best Self Tag: Katlyn E.

Leave a Reply

