Be Your Best Self Tag: Kaitlyn T.

Good morning, Beauties! It’s Kaitlyn again, and I’m participating in the Be Your Best Self tag. I’m also very excited to announce a special giveaway that’s super easy to enter. All you have to do is follow this blog and participate in the Be Your Best Self tag on your own blog. The winner will receive a 6 month BB Bag subscription – an awesome prize in my opinion!

  • Was there a time where you had to be brave in a difficult situation?

Yes. This whole year has been my bravest year yet. Right after the New Year, my mom was put on hospice care. She had been sick with breast cancer for a long time, but the cancer spread many other places including her stomach and brain. It definitely took a lot of bravery trying to finish up my last year of college. I had to travel home every weekend to take care of my sick mom, who could barely remember who I was anymore. Then I’d have to put my brave face on and travel back to school to go to my classes. It was also hard seeing the strain it put on my family. My mom ended up losing her battle in March, and it took a lot of bravery to pick things back up and finish out my school year strong. But – I graduated with honors and I now know I could handle any obstacle thrown at me.

  • Who inspires you to be your best self?

My older sister, Kristen. She’s the bravest person I know! While my mom was going through her battle, my sister always did her best to protect me from all the negative feelings. She dedicated all her free time to make the situation easier for everyone, even while she was swamped with work for her nursing school program. She has also always there to help me with any advice, or to teach me things that I normally would have gone to my mom for. Because of this, I try hard to be as great of a person as she is.

  • What is your greatest personal achievement?

My greatest personal achievement is being a good friend. It might seem small and simple, but I know it means a lot to the people I care about. It makes me feel amazing and accomplished when my friends have enough trust to confide in me – or when they just express how much they enjoy our time together.

  • Share a time where you acted selflessly.

When I was in high school, I had a part time job as a lifeguard. It was the end of summer when an incident occurred where a lot of the lifeguards were let go. This left my boss with a ridiculous amount of open shifts to fill without any notice. I really wanted to enjoy my last few weeks of summer at the beach and with my friends. However, I absolutely loved my boss – she was the sweetest woman! I knew she was under a lot of pressure, so I ended up taking a majority of the open shifts. Many days I’d work the first shift at 5 am, then come back later to work until closing at 10 pm. It was super stressful – but if I didn’t do it then it would have left my boss with a huge problem to solve on her own!

  • What is the best compliment you have ever given?

This might sound cheesy, but the best compliment I give people is when I compliment their soul. I, as well as many other people, give compliments all the time about smaller things like a cute outfit, gorgeous hair, or a kind gesture. But when I say someone has a beautiful soul, I truly believe they are an overall wonderful human being that others should aim to be like as well.

  • What is the best compliment you have ever received?

This is hard because I have the most amazing friends that compliment me all the time! My friend Steve, for example, always makes sure to compliment me every day. He knows my year hasn’t been easy, so every morning I get a text from him telling me how much fun he has hanging out with me and how I always bring a smile to his face. This is such a great feeling! So I have to say, all of Steve’s compliments are the best ones I’ve ever received.

  • What’s your best beauty tip?

My best beauty tip is to drink water! It might not sound like a beauty tip, but it’s so important because it keeps your skin hydrated.

  • What beauty product makes you feel like your best self?

My Urban Decay 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner. I love liquid liner! I struggle applying it perfectly and it always takes me forever. But when I have the time to apply it, I always notice I have so much more confidence when I go out.

  • What do you do that makes you feel like your best self?

I take some time for myself. Simple! I can sometimes be a little introverted, so making sure I have some “me-time” makes me feel great.

  • What is something that you love about yourself?

I love that I’m so laid back. I’m not the type of person to stress the little things and I never hold a grudge. This is honestly such an important thing! I know that it makes me a much happier person.

4 thoughts on “Be Your Best Self Tag: Kaitlyn T.

  1. Wow you really had a rough time and still came out on top!! Good for you. I’m sorry for your loss and I’m happy you have great friends and stay positive.

Leave a Reply

