Product Review: Hanaka Macaron Facial Mask- Hyaluronic Acid

Hi Beauties 🙂 Katlyn here with another employee review for you. We have so much great stuff here at Beauteque but I finally decided that I wanted to try something with Hyaluronic Acid (HA) in it. This is by no means a new ingredient in the skin care industry, yet it’s much more prevalent in Asian skincare (I think anyway) or I’ve just noticed it more since being at Beauteque. HA has been around a long time and many higher end brands like Clinique and Estee Lauder have actually revamped some of their timeless products over the last few years to include this magical ingredient.

Recently in my local drug stores, I’ve been seeing Hyaluronic Acid (HA) promoted in advertisements for a new skin care line all over the place, which is what made me want to try it. HA is technically not an acid at all despite the name and it’s benefits are much different then what you would associate an acid with. HA is a naturally-occurring polysaccharide found in the human body, it acts as a cushion and lubricant agent for our joints, nerves, hair, skin and eyes, who knew! Ever notice how supple, smooth, and silky a baby’s skin is? That’s the abundance of HA, when we are born we have tons of it, majority of it is in our skin, and it decreases over time as we age. You can get HA fillers, take it as an oral supplement, or as I chose to do, apply it topically. It won’t reverse any major aging but it will hydrate, plump up, and protect the skin and give it an overall better appearance and texture.

HA

I chose this little lady, the Hanaka Macaron Facial Mask with Hyaluronic Acid, how cute?!? It claims to be anti-aging, strengthen skin, aid in whitening (brightening), and leave the skin with a glossy smooth finish. To use it, wash and tone your skin and then apply an even layer to your whole face. Leave on for 15-20 minutes and then rinse off. When applying wash-off masks like this, my little tip to not get all gooped up is to use a foundation brush to apply them, this makes it super simple. You don’t have to dip you fingers in to anything and there’s no mess. I use an inexpensive foundation brush by E.L.F., I don’t like it for make- up but for masks, amazing.

HA2
As soon as I opened up the little macaron, I immediately smelled a fresh menthol kind of scent, very refreshing, and once I started to paint it on my face, it was incredibly cooling and invigorating on my skin. The texture was very slippery and silky, not runny but not jelly sticky, kind of smooth, ok I know, Goldilocks over here, the texture was just right! Haha I really packed it on my skin and there was a good amount left over. I hate to waste and being I couldn’t save it, I got my boyfriend to let me paint the rest on his face, he really liked the way it felt too! There we both sat for a little over 20 minutes, it was quite relaxing, and we chatted about how it felt on our face. It seemed to soak some into the skin but majority remained on top of our skin and we both looked super shiny/jelly like.

When washing it off, it removed very easily and we both couldn’t stop touching our faces after! My skin felt soooo smooth, baby smooth, and for doing this exhausted at 10pm, my skin actually looked more alive and radiant after, I didn’t even need to apply a moisturizer which I always do at night. When I woke up my skin still seemed just as smooth and silky! I really enjoyed using this, and think I want to include more Hyaluronic Acid into my regimen because it really made my skin, and my boyfriend’s skin look and feel great!

Has anyone tried this one or any of the other Hanaka Macarons (I might have to try them all!) or anything with HA in it?
Let us know in the comments below!

XO,
Katlyn

Leave a Reply

