Travel Essentials

IMG_4114

I’d consider myself to be a seasoned traveler. I’ve been flying across the pond back and forth since I was about 5 years old. Because of my frequent flying I’ve learned that I am not the biggest fan of airplanes. I find them dirty and uncomfortable, so I’ve picked up some tips and tricks along the way to make my journey a bit more bearable. For example, I can pick out a good book for the airplane in 30 seconds, I know to always order the vegetarian option, and I always bring a secondary pair of socks. These pieces of wisdom have spilled over into beauty and as springtime and your desire to travel is fast approaching I’m here to tell you what beauty products and extras I pack into my carry on.

Moisturizer: The Mizon Watervolume Aqua Gel Cream is perfect for traveling. Let’s be honest, airplanes are dry, dry places. I always end up with either a new blemish or dry patches because my skin doesn’t know how to react to the weird climate on an airplane. The Mizon Gel Cream is perfect for a dry climate because it provides ample moisture to the skin, but doesn’t leave any gross residue– which isn’t ideal when you’re in an airplane for 7+ hours.

Face Cleanser: I’m packing two of the Hanaka Camellia Powder Wash because I like to wash my face twice while traveling. First in the airplane right before I go to sleep and then when I get off the airplane in the airport bathroom. These aren’t optimal places to wash one’s face, but I’d rather at least attempt to freshen myself up than walk around with traveling grime, which we all know is the worst type of grime. The cool thing about the Hanaka Powder Wash is that they aren’t a liquid so you can pack a million of the packets and them on a airplane with ease and you never have to worry about them exploding and ruining your carry on items, things will just get a bit dusty.

Under Eye Mask:  Wearing a My Beauty Diary Puffiness Intensive Care Eye Mask will elicit quite a few stares from my plane neighbors, but whatever I’m never going to see these people again. Also, if you don’t feel 100% in the energy department, you can at least look like it.

Makeup: An eyebrow pencil, mascara and a lip product. These three products are easy things that could be applied with a handheld mirror in your seat or in the bathroom. In my opinion these is no sense in getting super dolled up when coming off the airplane because no one looks good after sitting in the same seat for 7+ hours, but you can at least look like you tried to be presentable.

Book: Yes, airplanes have in-flight entertainment, but seriously how many episodes of the Brady Bunch can you watch or how many B grade movies do you want to sit through? I like to bring a book to pass the time. I’m bringing The Wind Up Bird Chronicles by Haruki Murakami. I’ve read about 30 pages so far and it seems like something I could get into. The real selling point was the length, at about 500 pages this book won’t end too quickly and might even provide entertainment for the plane ride home. Other lengthy recommendations include Harry Potter, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Infinite Jest.

Watch: You never realize how slowly time goes by until you can’t check the time whenever you desired, which is why a watch is a must have. Additionally, a watch is one of those things that you don’t realize you need until it’s too late– it’s always better to be prepared. I could use my phone to check the time, but I take traveling as a time to unplug from the technology and to focus on my upcoming trip.

Hair Clip: So you can throw up your hair Professor Mcgonagall style.

Not featured, but important: tooth brush and tooth paste, retainers, deodorant because TMI.

These 10 items could easily fit into a carry on side pocket. I hope this post was helpful for any long journeys you are going on soon. Do you have any springtime or summer travel plans? What are you travel essentials?

Leave a Reply

